Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Irving, Wilson, Williams voted Pack captains

Linebacker Nate Irving, quarterback Russell Wilson and wide receiver Jarvis Williams were elected N.C. State's football captains in team voting Monday night, school sports information director Annabelle Myers announced.

Irving was a defensive team leader in 2008 and is returning as a senior after missing the 2009 season with injuries suffered in a car wreck. Wilson led the ACC with 31 touchdown passes last season as a sophomore. One of Wilson's favorite targets, Williams ranks fourth in school history with 15 career touchdown catches heading into his senior season.

"These three young men have shown outstanding leadership throughout their entire careers as members of this program," coach Tom O'Brien said in a statement. "Their hard work and dedication earned them the respect of their teammates."

Ken Tysiac