Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Brown, Horton among 2010 ACC Legends

Former N.C. State running back Ted Brown is among the former college football greats who will visit Charlotte in December as part of the 2010 class of ACC Legends, the ACC announced today.

Brown, the ACC's career rushing leader with 4,602 yards, will join 11 other ACC Legends who will be honored at the ACC's night of champions dinner Dec. 3 and at the ACC championship game Dec. 4 at Bank of America Stadium.

Former North Carolina running back Ethan Horton, a native of Charlotte who was the 1984 ACC player of the year, will participate in his hometown as a member of the Legends class. Jay Wilkinson, the 1963 ACC player of the year, will represent Duke. Larry Hopkins, who led Wake Forest to the 1970 ACC title and was the ACC's leading rusher in 1971, will represent the Deacons.

Clemson's Steve Fuller, Boston College's Tony Thurman, Florida State's Peter Boulware, Georgia Tech's Randy Rhino, Maryland's Darryl Hill, Miami's Cortez Kennedy, Virginia's Barry Word and Virginia Tech's Cornell Brown also are members of the Legends class.

Ken Tysiac