Wednesday, December 1, 2010

Hokies' Taylor named ACC player of the year

Quarterback Tyrod Taylor, who led Virginia Tech to an 8-0 conference record and a Coastal Division title, has been named ACC player of the year in media voting.
Taylor received 27 votes. N.C. State quarterback Russell Wilson was the runner-up in the balloting with 19 votes. Da'Quan Bowers, the Clemson defensive end who led the ACC in sacks, received eight votes, and Boston College running back Montel Harris received three votes.

Taylor also was selected as the ACC offensive player of the year. Bowers was the defensive player of the year.

Here are the vote totals for offensive and defensive player of the year:

Offensive: Tyrod Taylor, QB, Virginia Tech (31); Russell Wilson, QB, N.C. State (23); Montel Harris, RB, Boston College (4); T.J. Yates, QB, North Carolina (1); Danny O'Brien, QB, Maryland (1); Leonard Hankerson, WR, Miami (1).

Defensive: Da'Quan Bowers, DE, Clemson (36); Luke Kuechly, LB, Boston College (14); Jayron Hosley, CB, Virginia Tech (3); Nate Irving, LB, NC State (2).

Ken Tysiac