Thursday, December 10, 2009

Young voted Pack football MVP

Senior defensive end Willie Young, who finished his career ranked second in N.C. State history in career tackles for loss with 45.5, was voted the winner of the team's Governor's Award.

The award is given to the team's most valuable player based on ability, contribution, leadership and intangibles, and is one of only two voted on by players. Other awards are given by the coaching staff. The team's awards included:

Captains Award (also voted by players): Jeraill McCuller, Willie Young, Jamelle Eugene

Most valuable defensive lineman: Alan-Michael Cash

Most valuable defensive back: Bobby Floyd

Most valuable linebacker: Ray Michel

Most valuable offensive lineman: Ted Larsen

Special teams player of the year: Taylor Gentry

Most valuable offensive back: Russell Wilson

Mike Hardy Award (winning attitude, plays above capabilities): Leroy Burgess

Bo Rein Award (contributor in an unsung role): Matt Kushner

Bob Warren Award (integrity and sportsmanship): Koyal George

Al Michaels Award (puts team before himeslf): Julian Williams

Iron Wolf Award (comeback from injury): Toney Baker

Earle Edwards Award (Highest GPA): Andy Barbee

Gary Rowe Award (Most receptions): Jarvis Williams

Offensive scout team player of year: Curtis Underwood

Defensive scout team player of year: Daryl Cato-Bishop