Wednesday, July 23, 2008

Appalachian picked to win Southern

Appalachian State received eight of nine first-place votes in the preseason Southern Conference coaches poll today. The Mountaineers have won the past three FCS national championships.

Elon, which finished 7-4 a year ago and 4-3 in the Southern Conference, got the other first-place vote -- from Appalachian's Jerry Moore, who was not allowed to vote for his own team.

The predicted order of finish, with first place votes in parentheses and voting points (9 for first, 8 for second, etc.):

1. Appalachian State (8) 64
2. Elon (1) 47
3. Wofford 45
4. Georgia Southern 44
5. Furman 41
6. The Citadel 37
7. Chattanooga 19
8. Western Carolina 17
9. Samford 10

-- Stan Olson


mountaineerdynAsty said...

The Apps also have twelve preseason-all-conference-players, ten of which are first-team. And Armanti Edwards and Pierre Banks were chosen as offensive and defensive players of the year, respectively.

Anonymous said...

008 Southern Conference Preseason All-Conference Teams

Offensive Player of the Year: Armanti Edwards, Jr., QB, Appalachian State

Defensive Player of the Year: Pierre Banks, Sr., LB, Appalachian State


First Team

QB Armanti, Edwards, Appalachian State

RB Bryan Fitzgerald, Chattanooga

RB Devon Moore, Appalachian State

OL Brad Coley, Appalachian State

OL Joel Bell, Furman

OL Derek Wooten, Wofford

OL Ben Quick, Wofford

OL (tie) Mario Acitelli, Appalachian State

OL (tie) Thomas Slaughter, Furman

TE Larry Hedden, Furman

WR Terrell Hudgins, Elon

WR CoCo Hillary, Appalachian State

Second Team

QB Scott Riddle, Elon

RB Mike Brown, Furman

RB Dane Romero, Wofford

OL William Giles, Chattanooga

OL Ben Miller, Wofford

OL Chris Werden, Elon

OL Kevin Wiggins, Western Carolina

OL Dan DeHaven, The Citadel

TE Fenn Allen, Wofford

WR Andre Roberts, The Citadel

WR (tie) Blue Cooper, Chattanooga

WR (tie) Bo Williamson, Elon


First Team

DL Larry Beard, Georgia Southern

DL Tony Robertson, Appalachian State

DL Terrence Reese, The Citadel

DL Anthony Williams, Appalachian State

LB Corey Weaver, Elon

LB Pierre Banks, Appalachian State

LB Seth Goldwire, Wofford

DB Carson Hill, Georgia Southern

DB Thomas Twitty, Furman

DB Leonard Love, Appalachian State

DB Chris Covington, Georgia Southern

Second Team

DL Kevin McCaskill, The Citadel

DL Neil Brown, Chattanooga
DL Layton Baker, Wofford
DL Jeff Bradley, Western Carolina
LB Quintin Phillips, Western Carolina
LB Jacque Roman, Appalachian State
LB Joseph Thornton, Chattanooga
DB Raeshon Ball, Chattanooga
DB Cortez Gilbert, Appalachian State
DB Karlos Sullivan, Elon
DB (tie) William Middleton, Furman

DB (tie) Cameron McGlenn, Elon


First Team

PK Jesse Hartley, Georgia Southern

P Brandon Lane, Elon

RS CoCo Hillary, Appalachian State

Second Team

PK Patrick Mugan, Wofford

P Mark Kaspar, The Citadel

RS Mike Brown, Furman